7 yoga poses to balance the Chakras – part 2

Welcome to the second part of my journey through the chakras. In this article, I’ll focus on the ‘higher’ chakras: Anahata, Vishuddha, Ajna and Sahasrara.


Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra) 

  • Location: Heart
  • System: Circulatory, respiratory, immune
  • Associations: Compassion, love, acceptance, emotional openness
  • Colour: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Mantra: Yam
  • Affirmation: I am loved
Pose: Padma Mudra

Use Padma Mudra, or Lotus Mudra, to balance your Heart Chakra. Since the Lotus is all about compassion and love, it is the perfect hand gesture to tune into your Heart Chakra. It is best practised sitting on your heels. Bring the palms of the hands together in front of your heart and spread all ten fingers. Keep the base of the hands, the thumbs and the pinkie fingers touching while the other fingers spread apart just like the petals of a Lotus flower. Bring the thumbs directly to your heart centre and then close your eyes and use your Ujjayi breath to tune into yourself. Let go of any negative thoughts and forgive yourself in order to create compassion and love toward your own being.


Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)

  • Location: Throat
  • System: Metabolism
  • Associations: Expression, abundance, manifestation, intuition
  • Colour: Blue
  • Element: Ether
  • Mantra: Ham
  • Affirmation: I am expressive
Pose: Setu Bandha Sarvangasana

Lie on your back with your knees bent and feet on the floor. Press your feet and arms into the floor as you lift your hips toward the ceiling.

Keep your thighs and feet parallel. Roll your shoulders back and underneath your body, clasp your hands, and extend your arms along the floor beneath your hips. Hold for up to one minute.

To release, slowly roll your spine along the floor, one vertebra at a time.


Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

  • Location: Between eyebrows (third eye)
  • System: Endocrine
  • Associations: Insight, wisdom, self-awareness, self-realization
  • Colour: Violet
  • Element: Light
  • Mantra: Om
  • Affirmation: I am connected
Pose: Balasana

While in Child’s Pose, feel your third eye touching the floor and breathe into it, feeling centred and clear.

Be brave. Connect with and listen to your intuition while in the pose.





Sahasrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

  • Location: Crown of the head
  • System: Nervous
  • Associations: Universal consciousness, intuition, peace of mind
  • Colour: White
  • Element: None, beyond the elements
  • Mantra: None
  • Affirmation: I am Divine
Pose: Sirsasana

The life lesson of the seventh chakra is about developing the ability to surrender to pure consciousness, as you finally learn your true nature or at least become aware of it.

You are the micro and the macro. In Headstand, the crown of your head is on the floor, which means it is grounded and connected to the earth.

Let this pose remind you that while your intention is connected to the Divine, you are still rooted on this Earth in order to continue to serve and fulfil your purpose.